May 15th – 19th 2016. Certosa di Pontignano, Siena (Italy)

The University of Siena is organizing the “Sixth European Workshop in Drug Synthesis” (VI EWDSy), to be held, from May 15th to 19th 2016, in Certosa di Pontignano, on the outskirt of the beautiful city of Siena, in Tuscany.

This year, the workshop will be focused on novel synthetic procedures in medicinal chemistry, HIV research, neglected diseases and ADMET. The aim of this unique event is to provide a fertile ground for young chemists to share and exchange knowledge.

These topics will be covered by lectures of cutting-edge researchers in the mornings and dedicated sessions in the afternoon.
There will also be the possibility to attend to short talks from promising young researchers and shotgun presentations from selected posters.

For more info about the event please visit


The following eminent scientists already accepted to lecture:


Alan Kozikowski – University of Illinois, Chicago (USA)

Christian Ottmann – Eindhoven University of Technology (Netherlands)

Dario Neri – ETH (Switzerland)

Dennis Liotta – Emory University (USA)

Dieter Schinzer – University of Magdeburg (Germany)

Fernando Albericio – IRB, Barcelona (Spain)

Helena Danielson – Uppsala University (Sweden)

Hugo Kubinyi – BASF SE and University of Heidelberg (retired) (Germany)

Karl-Heinz Altmann – ETH Zurich (Switzerland)

Katherine L. Seley-Radtke – University of Maryland, Baltimore Co. (USA)

Kevin Burgess – Texas A & M University (USA)

Magid Abou-Gharbia – Moulder Center for Drug Discovery Research, Temple University (USA)

Maria José Camarasa – Consejo Superior de Investigaciones Científicas (Spain)

Markus Kalesse – Leibniz Universität Hannover (Germany)

Matteo Zanda – University of Aberdeen (UK)

Paolo Melchiorre – Institute of Chemical Research of Catalonia (Spain)

Stephen Hanessian – University of Montreal (Canada) and University of California, Irvine (USA)

Stephen Neidle – University College, London (UK)

Ulrike Holzgrabe – University of Würzburg (Germany)

William Jorgensen – Yale University (USA)

Youssef Bennani – Domain Therapeutics and Vertex Pharmaceuticals (Canada)

Yves Mely – University of Strasbourg (France)



Participation to EWDSy is limited to 65 attendants.